A Travelogue of the Interior

faith questions

Poetry Friday: “Follow”

1 Comment

looking_01

Supper at Emmaus (Caravaggio)

Follow

Can you love who you do not love
even crushed beneath the
weight of your own pain?

Can you swallow evil down
bile turning to acid yet
not vomit it out?

Can you hold rejection in your own hands
while it blisters and burns
trusting Me to heal the scars?

Can you let Me kill you with the hope
I’ll raise you from the grave
and not forget?

I think I knew from that first moment
Dove resting on My head
How it all would end
Not the horror of it, mind you
No one could have foreseen that.

Can you feel the welts rise on your back
from the lash that loves to
separate flesh from bone?

Can you hold your tongue amid snarls of accusation
when you know better
when you know all there is to know?

Can you face the man who thinks he is your enemy
grip the table as he strikes you in your face
see him convulsed in confusion and fear?

Can you let your tears mix freely with your blood
without needing to explain
from whence they came?

Can you follow Me there
where theology fails and
evil plays every card?

Can you live without answers?
walk an untrod path?
die for a man’s choice to hate you?

Will you follow Me there?

Then take My hand
end My loneliness
walk with Me
to the cross
the tomb
wait for Me
to rise
journey with Me
to Emmaus
hear it all explained
until the ground
beneath our feet
turns to gold
in the New Jerusalem.

I am the Lord’s servant
May it be to me according to Your word.
Tho’ a sword pierce my soul
and my heart shatter,
do not send me away.
Let me go where You go
show me what it means to be 

Your beloved.

Author: karen d

Thinker, Dreamer, Traveler. Recovering Pharisee.

One thought on “Poetry Friday: “Follow”

  1. I think you also need “rhetorician” in the author box 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

