A Travelogue of the Interior

faith questions

Had I Known Then What I Know Now

9 Comments

A friend of mine is pregnant with her first baby and it got me thinking about how delusional I was when I was pregnant with my first baby 12 years ago.  Now, almost 11 years later, my life is beginning once again to resemble that of an adult human being. And so, from this lofty position, here’s what my 44 year old self, mother of 2, ages 10 and 8, would say to my then 32 year old self, on the verge of becoming a parent:

1.  Write off the next ten years. Just. Write. Them. Off. The next decade of your life will devolve into something unrecognizable. Right now you are fit, organized and ambitious, you fancy yourself learned and literary, you wear cute shoes. You are a paragon of confidence, stylish in your Pea In The Pod tunic and leggings, shoulders back and belly bulging, announcing you’ll buy a jogger! Kettlebell those abs back into shape! Make baby food from scratch! Scrapbook!

images

Self, bask in this illusion. In a matter of mere weeks you will trade your kitten heels for Dansko’s in dark colors and the most effort you will make on your personal appearance is for your post-delivery OB/GYN appointment because at least your doctor will pay attention to you. You will tell yourself this is a phase, that it will pass when … the baby sleeps through the night… turns 1… starts walking … turns 2 … goes to preschool … goes to Kindergarten … and on it goes until one day, despite your best effort, your 10 year old tells you that your butt is oddly squishy and makes a nice pillow, and as this truth sinks horribly in you will look around at the disorganized mess of your house, struggling to remember both your first and middle name, and you will realize T.S.Eliot did not know just how right he was, and this is how the world ends. Go ahead: lay your head on your arms and whimper.

2. When you exercise, everything will always hurt. You will never string together more than a few days or weeks of consistent exercise, despite your best effort. Since you can’t get consistent exercise, every time you do manage a workout, it will feel like you are exercising for the very first time in your whole entire life. Bravely, you will go out for a run, but your thighs will chafe and you will struggle to suppress the irrational thought that you might have a collapsed lung. You’ll scrap running and decide to take up cycling — it has cool gear and cyclists have great butts (cf. the pillow comment above). But after an excruciating hour in the saddle your private parts will hurt in ways that make you wonder if bipedalism is even worth it. So, swimming!  YES!  You will become a swimmer, only to realize that after a mere 15 minutes of intermittent, gasping laps you are ready to eat your dashboard on the drive home. The smattering of calories you managed to burn while mostly hanging onto the side of the pool is nothing compared to the food you will scarf later, and so you will decide that something is wrong with this sport and … wait for it… you will try running again. Repeat this ad nauseam for the Next Ten Years.

3. Whatever mad organizational skills you think you have will fail utterly when confronted with your children’s plastic toys.You will start out self-righteously buying expensive wooden toys from Melissa & Doug and you will bask in the sweet aether of superiority until one day you will look around and realize somehow, despite your best effort, your house is littered with extruded plastic crap that has magically, satanically proliferated in your home. You will swear that plastic procreates, breeds in the dark hours of the night, because how else do you explain tiny plastic shoes and helmets and horse bridles all over the floor? No taxonomy or organizational model on earth can cope with Polly Pockets and My Lego Friends and OMG The Rainbow Loom toy-from-the-pit-of-hell. You pick up, sort and label for weeks on end while the voice of Jim McKay loops endlessly in your brain … Spanning the globe to bring you the constant variety of sport… the thrill of victory… and the agony of defeat…” and you realize Vinko Bogataj has nothing on you. He wiped out once. You collapse in a heap at the end of every day, only to discover you are sitting … on a tiny plastic shoe.

imgres-1

4. Your prayer life will be radically transformed. Remember how you used to awake at first light, keen to talk through the day ahead with God, daydream about what might unfold, excited for the adventure? Now, you will lay there in bed at zero-dark-thirty, wondering why you can’t feel your legs and praying dear God, please let there be enough salami for at least one sandwich I can carve up for both girls oh God help me get Out Of This Bed and please oh please can I achieve telekinesis for one precious moment so I can turn the coffee pot while supine? Your conversations with God may slightly improve as the day progresses, but despite your best effort, the days of focused prayer are over. Gone. Not for lack of desire, but accumulating sleep deprivation will have the net effect of making it impossible for two thoughts to connect in your head, let alone thinking those thoughts in the general direction of God. I refer you to point 1 above: just write these years off. Amen.

5. You will suck at everything important. Yep. Everything. Oh you’ll have moments of brilliance when your children are showered and well-behaved, eating organic microgreens with a fork and offering each other the bread basket first while smugly you suspect you might be the best parent ever to walk the Earth. But then something will happen – usually within a millisecond – to prove you horribly, breathtakingly wrong about your parenting props. You will then realize that despite your best effort, entropy has prevailed and the unassailable trend of your entire decade has been down and out.  The crowning blow will be the moment you realize that sleep deprivation (see #4 above) has ensured that even if you have had competent parenting moments, you have no memory of them whatsoever.

So, dear 32 year old self, go easy on yourself. Despite your best effort, you are going to fail. Over and over again. Embrace it. Own it. You go gurl! Mostly be kind to all the rest of those failing parents – the stay at home ones and the gainfully employed ones, the ones who send their kid to school with beans and a can opener for lunch, the ones who still wear kitten heels and pretend they have it all together. Let grace prevail.

And for the love of all that is holy, do not EVER let your ten year old turn your butt into a pillow.

Author: karen d

Thinker, Dreamer, Traveler. Recovering Pharisee.

9 thoughts on “Had I Known Then What I Know Now

  1. Pingback: Pick of the Clicks 3/8/2014 | bronwyn's corner

  2. So glad to be introduced to you by Rob! What a fabulous, hilarious, oh-so-true post. Nice to meet you 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Bronwyn, great to meet you! I was just wandering around your blog and love it. I just finished reading The Thing I’d Rather Be Doing. Boy oh boy can I relate! Thanks for finding me … looking very much forward to following you and getting to know you better.

      Like

  3. Bravo, Karen – beautiful, honest, encouraging. God bless you and all who read you. Looking forward to becoming familiar with more of your work. Surprised we’ve never crossed paths but hope to someday. Cheers.

    Like

  4. Dear Karen,
    I enjoyed reading that so much! And first of all, let me just say, how lucky your Girls are for having such a BEAUTIFUL mother, inside and out! 🙂
    I could totally relate to this posting. One of the things i keep telling myself, is how I wish I could do it all over again knowing what I know now .. But, ah well, she turned out alright!-and I can’t complain about myself either .. And at least she never made any comments about my ‘pillow butt’!-she asked me however, if ‘that’ was how her breasts would be one day too!!! I wasn’t quite sure what she meant with it? Did she like then or not?
    Yes yes, they could do with some lifting? But there’s just no convincing Jona (my husband) of such.. !!
    Anyway, I accepted them the way they are. A pleasant reminder of feeding some little baby once in my life, a very important part of me, and so for that reason, I accept them the way they are!
    Thank you for delighting me everytime with your postings! You write Beautifully.!!-keep going Karen

    Like

    • thanks for commenting Rute … LOVE your story — it made me laugh this morning! Our poor bodies! But you are right, we get these beautiful children and lives and memories in return 🙂 We can’t wait to see you all in a few months!

      Like

  5. Karen, I laughed so hard I cried. Seriously. Couldn’t breathe. I had Caleb in Brazil in January, the height of summer there. Luckily, things there are different and I could walk around my apartment in my surf bikini and surf shorts to stave off the heat. No one cared. I answered the door like that and no one bat an eyelash. But I just have this crazy image of me in my Aaron Chang bikini, rocking Caleb in the “Moises” (neat name for the little kid seat/mobile kid thing–what are they called?–isn’t it?) in front of Oprah–whom I had NEVER watched before–trying to get him to sleep in 40 degree Celsius heat (like 105, no air con, humidity 80% or so) and wondering, when, oh when, will I get more than 2 hours of sleep? I have the greatest sympathy for new moms! :-). What a great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

